After school finished on Friday 13th October, all the teams gathered to transform the site, ready to welcome all our visitors the next day for the start of our 41st RRSIMUN Conference. On Saturday our Student Secretariat Team warmly guided hundreds of pupils and staff from 38 different schools who had travelled from 10 different countries to attend our conference. Over the next few days, pupils debated in eleven different committees current issues such as The question of the expansion of NATO, The question of nuclear in a low carbon economy, The question of gender equality, The question of reparations for slavery, The question of advancing the role of women in leadership and political participation, The question of justice for war crimes amongst many others, and The Question of Artificial Intelligence in the Crisis committee. The sun shone on all participants as they represented eighty member states of the United Nations. Our Royal Russell Chairs led their committees with professionalism and openness. Well done to Winnie Wang, Raashmi Niranjan, Caprice Walsh and Francesco Licheri. Our Heads of Secretariat, Conor Morris, Jasmine Rihal, Nadra Webb and Fabio Marmarchi, ensured the smooth running of committees. Hollie Taylor and Tahnee Dione and their Press Team produced four fantastic new editions of our MUN Magazine The Delegate. Poppy Clements and Will Press and the Media Team are to be commended for all their incredible work in the production of a game show, filming and streaming of the General Assembly, Opening and Closing Ceremonies and of course our very own MUN’s Got Talent event. Our Senior Officers made our school very proud with their commitment, thoroughness and diplomacy when leading the General Assembly and Security Council. Congratulations to Iris Nuredini, Secretary General, Jiya Desai, Mark Ben Mikhelson, Johan Prinsloo, Presidents of the General Assembly, Lucas Easton and Alexander Chesters, Presidents of the Security Council. Well done to all our delegates who represented Cyprus, Jamaica and Syria and a special mention to Rohan Phillpot who received the Distinguished Delegate Award in the Social and Humanitarian Committee.

CategoryLatest, RRS Delegates
Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2017 Royal Russell School.
Follow us: